My College

DIY – Tissue Tassel Garland

I’ve been searching for the perfect wall décor to add a little color to my bare white cinder block walls and I think I found the solution with this little DIY. It’s so cute and now all my friends from school are begging me to make them one also so I thought I would share a little secret into my apartment décor.

 Supplies:

  • 1 sheet of tissue paper per tassel
  • Rotary Cutter
  • Scissors
  • Cutting Board
  • Cord/Twine
  • Hot Glue Gun

Instructions:

Step 1: Gather materials.

Step 2: Fold a piece of tissue paper (20″ x 20″ or 20″ x 24″) in half and in half the other way. Cut strips towards the fold to create fringe, leaving about 1 inch uncut at the fold line. Once all strips are cut, unfold the tissue and cut in half so you have 2 sheets with fringe (to make 2 tassels).

Step 3: Unfold tissue paper.

Step 4: Begin rolling tightly down the middle crease.

Step 5: Continue rolling, fold in half and then twist to create a loop for hanging.

Step 6: Repeat to create additional tassels in various colors. Hang from thin cord or ribbon.

If you’re looking for a little extra guidance or more dorm décor idea, email me at mysprinkelofprep@gmail.com or leave a comment below.

 

Spreading Sprinkles & Sparkles,

xoxo

Megan

Leave a Reply

