Uncategorized

Open Letter To the Boy That Stole My Heart || Country Song

Open Letter to the boy that stole my heart,

 The same old white pickup truck is parked in front of my house just like you’ve been parked in my life. You’re parked right damn in front in the center, and you are high enough onto the curb that you are parked on the lawn I mow once a week. You’ve been parked there for three years and just last week is when you’ve decided to make your move and straighten out those tires. It took you three years to realize that we have a connection deeper than the ocean and stronger than however much horsepower you have under that hood. I just can’t believe the way I feel about you boy, just like how the river meets the sea stronger than it’s ever been.

That old engine and the exhaust that escapes is crazy to think that we stuck around this long, I toughened it out this long. That maybe after three years I am not crazy for keeping contact with you. That being friends for three years was worth all my time, and I don’t need to strike a match on all my wasted time.

Our story is like the sweet melody of an old-time country song, and I wouldn’t trade it for no hip-hop rap song on the radio. I could drive miles with you in that stupid old pickup truck you never let me drive, you’re a redneck heartbreak, who’s really bad at lying.

I can’t blink anymore because I just might miss how I took a nap and I woke up and we’re twenty-five and your high school sweetheart has become my husband and I’m his wife. Yeah just like that three years ago, we were high school senior athletes, we were young, it was summer and we found each other in a little town on the edge of the water, through twitter. I remember trying not to stare, the night that I first met you, you had me mesmerized as you kicked my butt in putt-putt.

When three weeks later, you were back at my place and back in my space. If you wanted to call me, call me, call me you didn’t have to worry ‘bout a thing. You can wake me up in the dead of the night; wreck my plans, baby that’s alright. As long as I’m with you I’ll drop anything, and you can crash my party and my place anytime. It was 2 in the morning and you were wondering what I was doing and next thing I knew you were at my place, parked in the same place.

When time ain’t on your side you’re wonderin’ which kiss is gonna mean goodbye before college finally arrives. Now I’m waiting when will summer finally arrive. Waiting for you to shoot a smile at me, midnight selfies on a balcony. A little something’ for my lock screen, instead you just keep shooting texts and burning up on phone.

It’s driving me crazy, goodbyes ain’t ever easy so break it to me hard. Is someone else calling you baby? Don’t try to save me, I can handle everything that sends me. If you’re seeing someone else I will get out of your life, I’ll wait here till you’re ready. We can take things slow, heaven knows there are so many ways things can go wrong.

Cause honestly, I don’t know what I’d do if I’d never met a man like you. It’s your love, it does something to me, it sends a shock right through me, I can’t get enough. I keep holding on to this for three years because I can’t get enough. I will never get enough of all your all time you give me, all those seconds we spent together as friends these last three years. I don’t have to meet your mother, we don’t have to cross that line. I don’t wanna steal your covers I just wanna steal your time.

Love,

Meg
Leave a Reply

