Blogging · My Photography

5 Tips For Taking Better Blog Photos

Happy Monday and I wanted to start off a great week by sharing a couple tips and tricks and tell you a bit about one of my new favorite camera brands Light.co. No better way to start off a great week for a little advice on how to take better blog pictures. It’s crazy how much technology has been advanced within the last couple of years. Light.co has created a camera that is the perfect mix between a basic point-n-click camera and a fancy DSLR without the hassle of changing lenses, and weight. This camera is amazing on what it is capable to do and I can’t wait to get my hands on one to test it out for myself. If you haven’t heard of this camera you have to check out the specs.

I love to shoot my siblings, fun shoots in the backyard and events in my free time. Today I wanted to share with you a couple of tips and tricks for taking better photos for your blog. This is what I have learned over the years, and I must say it’s been a serious journey of trial and error as I learned new techniques and ideas. I have to say I am constantly learning new ways to grow and explore the world of photography. Along with all the tricks in Photoshop, Lightroom, and wireless shooting. There is so much to explore and I just love having photography apart of my many passions and hobbies. Here are 5 tips to think about while shooting your next blog post.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

1. Use as Much Natural Light as Possible

I can’t say this enough if you want the best-looking pictures to try your best to shoot during

times, when the sun is up, shooting in artificial light just, doesn’t give the same natural glow and color that you get from natural light. If you are super desperate you can purchase studio lights and ring lights for around your camera but I still don’t think it is as good as good old natural lighting.

2. Shoot During Golden Hours

Plan to shoot an outdoor photos or an outfit of the day fashion post, plan to shoot during golden hours or a couple hours after the sun rises or before the sunsets. This will result in light that isn’t as harsh and gives off a nice glow to your photos. I shot my sister’s senior photos at around 8-9 am after the sun rose around 7. Shooting with the sun behind them gave her a nice glow.

3.If You Shoot In the Middle of the Day Shoot in the Shade

If you have no choice and you are shooting in the middle of the day or right before or after lunch to get the best photos try to shoot in the shade so you don’t have to deal with harsh lighting in your eyes or harsh shadows on your face or behind you. Shooting in the shades gives a nice and even amount of light and no shadows, while still allowing for natural light.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

4.To get the Classic White Background invest in a Foam Board

If you’re looking to shoot a clean background product shots invest in a foam board to lay your product on. I purchased one from Target for only a couple of bucks and I use it for every shoot. I like this better than white poster board because it doesn’t wrinkle up and you have a lower chance of ruining it

5.Use White objects to reflect the Light and Soften Harsh Shadows Inside and Outside

Double the usage of your white poster board by using it as a cheap light reflector. Using something white and large (like the poster board or a pillowcase) to bounce the light off of to reduce the harshness of the shadows in which you are shooting in. It lightens up the photo and makes products and outfits look so much better.

I would love to know what your favorite thing is to photograph, leave a comment below. And if you have any other tips you would love to share, don’t hesitate to message me, I would love to hear them! For more tips check out my tips for shooting sports for beginners.

Spreading Sprinkles & Sparkles,

Xo

Meg

2 thoughts on “5 Tips For Taking Better Blog Photos

Leave a Reply

